People often don’t realize how serious the penalties are for drunk driving in Texas. It’s imperative that anyone who’s accused of drunk driving speak to their attorney to learn about what options they have so they can determine what defense strategy they’re going to use.
Before you decide on the defense you’re going to use, you should ensure that you know what penalties you’re facing. These are set by Texas law and are based on what number of offenses you’re facing and whether there were children under 15 years old in the vehicle.
On the first offense for drunk driving, you can lose your driver’s license for up to one year. You can also face 180 days in jail. There is a mandatory 3-day mandatory minimum jail sentence. There’s also the possibility of a fine of up to $2,000 plus a state fine of $3,000 when you’re sentenced.
A second offense of drunk driving means you’ll lose your driver’s license for up to two years. You also face a jail sentence of one month to one year. There’s a fine of $4,500 plus a state fine of $4,000 if you’re convicted and sentenced.
On a third offense, you face a two-year driver’s license suspension. You also face a $10,000 fine plus a state fine of $6,000 when you’re sentenced. A prison sentence of two to 10 years is also associated with a conviction.
If you’re arrested for drunk driving, you must ensure that act quickly. Some defense options might be time-sensitive. Your attorney can help you to determine the steps you need to take to best protect your rights and your future.